top of page

Mammal Sightings

Please submit your mammal sightings via email (contact@aldbournewildlife.com) or via the contact box. Please do send photos if you are happy for them to be shared.
We are after all mammal sightings please, even common animals and repeat sightings 
green line pic.png
Wednesday 25th January 2023
2 Hares and 2 Roe deer  High Clear Down Track (Matthew Best)
Sunday 1st January 2023
3 Roe deer Four Barrows track (1st Sunday of the Month Four Barrows walk)
Tuesday 25th October 2022
8 Roe deer Sugar Hill (Matt Best)
Sunday 23rd October 2022
8 Hares Aldbourne Chase (Matt Best)
Saturday 22nd October 2022
A confiding Weasel Love's Copse (Matt Best)
Thursday 20th October 2022
Roe Deer (3) Four Barrows walk (Matt Best)
Tuesday 11th October 2022
Hare 1 at High Clear Down (Emily Best)
Sunday 2nd October 2022
Roe Deer (5) were among 37 birds and 2 mammals on the Four Barrows monthly walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk),
Wednesday 21st September 2022
Hare 1 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Friday 16th September 2022
Muntjac mother and fawn, Garden on Kandahar (Nick Whelan),
Tuesday 13th September 2022
Fox Four Barrows track (Matt Best)
Sunday 26th June 2022
Roe Deer and a Brown Hare, Poors Gorse (Matt Best)
Thursday 16th June 2022
Hedgehogs  garden on Kandahar (Sophie Fynn)
Friday 8th June 2022
Hedgehog  garden on Lottage Road (Kate Digman)
Tuesday 5th June 2022
3 Bank Voles, St Michael's churchyard (Year 1 St MIchael's school)
Friday 27th May 2022
 Brown Hare High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Wednesday 22nd May 2022
Brown Hare High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Saturday 17th May 2022
Roe Deer Sugar Hill (Wayne Ford)
Saturday 7th May 2022
Muntjac  Poors Gorse (Matt Best)
Saturday 30th April 2022
Fox at High Clear Down (Emily and Matthew Best)
Fox family and hedgehogs, horse field at end of Lottage road (Vicky Davies)
Tuesday 26th April 2022
Hare, High Clear Down (Jon Beresford
)
Sunday 3rd April
Fox Four Barrows track (Matt Best)
Wednesday 30th March
1 Roe Buck, 1 Juvenile Muntjac and 2 SIKA DEER stags at High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Friday 25th March
7 Hares chasing each other around just out of parish next to the old railway near Ogbourne St George (Carolyn Davis)
Thursday 24th March
Stoat The Downs (Dyson Wilkes)
Hibernating hedgehog
 The Downs (Dyson Wilkes)
Wednesday 23rd March
4 Roe Deer  Giant's Grave (Matthew Best)
3 Roe Deer  
Just beyond North Farm (Matthew Best)
Tuesday 22nd March
Polecat x Ferret Hybrid  sadly killed on the road just beyond North Farm (Tim Marriot)
Monday 14th March
Muntjac next to B4192 below Four Barrows (Matthew Best)
Friday 25th February
Roe Deer Loves Copse (Nick Whelan)
Sunday 20th February
Muntjac Deer,  Loves Copse (Emily Best)
Thursday 17th February
Hare, Loves Lane (Emily Best)
3 Roe Dear, Loves Copse (Emily Best)
Wednesday 16th February
3 Hares and a Roe Deer,  Track to High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Stoat, crossing road beyond West Leaze (Matt Best)


 
Friday 4th February
Weasel Southward Lane(Emily Best)
Thursday 3rd February
Pygmy Shrew, St Michael's Churchyard (Ben Best) 
Friday 21st January
Common Shrew,  Hawkins Road (Sadie Darling-Hewitt)