Sunday 4th April

32 species see on Four Barrows Bird walk- see the project page for the full list

Saturday 3rd April

2 stonchat - Hi Peak byway (Emily and Matt Best)

Common Redstart bullock paddock, Lottage farm (Emily and Matt Best)

Hedgehog faeces found in the churchyard

Bird Sightings

Please submit your bird sightings via email (contact@aldbournewildlife.com) or via the contact box. Please do send photos if you are happy for them to be shared.
If a sighting interests you or has given you joy that you could share with others then please do submit, feel free to submit birds that have even been reported previously, it is interesting to know if they are still around.
green line pic.png
Tuesday 25th October
Swift species, Common Gull and Firecrest Sugar Hill/Four Barrows track - note this is a very late record for swift and this might well have been a Pallid Swift rather than a Common Swift (Matt Best)
Sunday 23rd October
64 Stock Doves Aldbourne Chase (Matt Best)
Saturday 22nd October
Singing Woodlarks, a confiding Weasel, a siskin and lots of Redwings and Fieldfares around Love's Copse (Matt Best)
Friday 21st October
Peregrine sitting on the South face of the church tower at 5pm - note that the peregrines have been around all summer but have been hard to see as they seem to have been spending most of their time on the tower at night (Emily Best)
Thursday 20th October
Firecrest (2), Redwing (12), Fieldfare (81), Lesser Black-backed Gull (221) and Corn Bunting (3) Four Barrows walk (Matt Best)
Wednesday 19th October
100 Redwing flying South (Matt Best)
Sunday 16th October
Marsh Tit (2) and 81 Herring Gulls Upper Upham (Matt Best)
Stonechat (2)
 High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Saturday 15th October
Barn Owl  on Castle street 1km towards Marlborough (Matt Best)
Wednesday 12th October
Stonechat near New Barns (Matt Best)
8 Reed Buntings 
divided between two separate feedstrips on private farmland (Matt Best)
Tuesday 11th October
Raven (1) and Stonechat (2)  on track near New Barns (Matt and Emily Best)
Stonechat
 2 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Sunday 2nd October
Firecrest  was among 37 birds and 2 mammals on the Four Barrows monthly walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk),
Wednesday 28th September
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Wednesday 21st September
Stonechat 3 on track near New Barns (Matt Best)
Stonechat
 4 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Wednesday 14th September
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Wednesday 7th September
Hobby Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Sunday 28th August
House Martin chicks, The Forge (Jon Beresford),
Sunday 7st August
Redstart, Reed Bunting and Firecrest amoungst 40 species on the bird walk  (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Spotted flycatcher next to the Vicarage (Matthew Best)
Brimstone, Comma, Red Admiral and Small White 
Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Saturday 6th August
Raven  track to High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Redstart High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Monday 1st August
Little Owl Whitley Road area (calling) (Matthew Best),
Sunday 31st July
Hobby Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Sunday 3rd July
40 species of birds including Firecrest Four Barrows Bird Walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Friday 24th June
Juvenile Blue Tits garden on Marlborough Road (Jenny Greaves),
Tuesday 21st June
Woodlark two at Poors Gorse (Matthew Best)
Thursday 16th June
Mallard with 8 new ducklings, the pond (Alice and Ben Best)
Monday 30th May
Blue tit nest garden wall on Back lane (Nigel Payne)
Wednesday 25th May
5 Firecrest fledgelings  noisy and being fed by parents, track to Four Barrows (Matt Best)
Monday 19th May
Yellow wagtail New Barn track (Jenny Greaves)
Saturday 7th May
Garden Warbler  Southward Triangle (Matt Best)
Wednesday 4th May
Tree Pipit  two singing at High Clear Down  (Matthew Best)
Monday 2nd May
Heron  on the pond (Nigel Payne)
Woodlark  2 at Poors Gorse (Matthew Best)
Sunday 1st May
2 Whimbrel, yellow wagtail and 6 wheatear  on the four barrows bird walk (Matthew Best)
Saturday 30th April
Yellow wagtail and lots of whitethroats and a Long tailed tit nest on the track to High Clear Down (Emily and Matthew Best)
Wednesday 23rd March
Brambling (Male)  Giant's Grave (Matthew Best)
Singing Meadow Pipits and Stonechat  Sugar Hill (Matthew Best)
Several large groups of fieldfare on the Aldbourne Circuit also 49 Linnets beyond Four Barrows (Matthew Best)
Monday 21st March
3 Brambling, lots of Siskins, singing treecreeper and 3 or 4 Marsh Tits Love's Copse (Emily Best)
1 Woodlark  Singing near Love's Lane (Emily Best)
Sunday 20th March
Firecrest singing  in the pine spinney before Love's Copse (also many goldcrests in the same location (Matthew Best)
5 Lesser Redpoll, lots of Siskins, singing treecreeper and nuthatches Love's Copse (Matthew Best)
3 Woodlark  Singing near Love's Lane (Matthew Best)
Female Brambling  under and on the feeders on Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Saturday 19th March
2 Firecrests  at the bottom of the four barrows track (Matthew Best)
Wednesday 16th March
2 Bramblings  on a Manor Farm feed strip (Henry Brown and Matthew Best)
Barn Owl  
North Field Barn (Ben and Matthew Best)
Tuesday 15th March
Grey Wagtail,  West Street (Rob Warren)
Sunday 13th March
Chiffchaff (singing) and Firecrests at the bottom of the four barrows track (James Wallace)
Sunday 6th March
2 Cormorants on the four barrows track (Four Barrows Monthly walk)
3 Peregrines around the church tower in the morning (NickWhelan and Matthew Best)
Woodlark (2)
 Love's Lane (Matthew Best)
Saturday 5th March
Female Brambling still around the feeders on Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Friday 4th March
Female Brambling around the feeders on Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Thursday 3rd March
Female Brambling around the feeders on Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Thursday 17th February
3 woodlark performing song flight,  Loves Lane (Emily Best)
Sunday 12th February
Brambling, East Lease Farm (Matt Best)
Saturday 11th February
Lesser Redpoll, 100+ Siskins, Goldfinches, Loves Copse (Matt Best)
3 woodlarks, Loves Lane (Matt Best)