top of page
Sunday 4th April

32 species see on Four Barrows Bird walk- see the project page for the full list

Saturday 3rd April

2 stonchat - Hi Peak byway (Emily and Matt Best)

Common Redstart bullock paddock, Lottage farm (Emily and Matt Best)

Hedgehog faeces found in the churchyard

Bird Sightings

Please submit your bird sightings via email (contact@aldbournewildlife.com) or via the contact box. Please do send photos if you are happy for them to be shared.
If a sighting interests you or has given you joy that you could share with others then please do submit, feel free to submit birds that have even been reported previously, it is interesting to know if they are still around.
green line pic.png
Thursday 7th December 2023
Woodcock Four Barrows Track  (Matthew Best) 
Wednesday 6th December 2023
Raven Track to high clear down  (Matthew Best) 
Sunday 3rd December 2023
Heron, Treecreeper, Mistle Thursh, Goldcrest, Stonechats Four Barrows Track  (1st Sunday of the month Four Barrows walk
Peregrine Church tower  (Matt Best) 
Wednesday 22nd November 2023
3 Siskin, Great Spotted Woodpecker and 2 Raven Aldbourne  (Matthew Best) 
18 Lapwing, 2 Sonechats Giant's grave  (Matthew Best) 
Wednesday 15th November 2023
Siskin Love's Copse  (Matthew Best) 
Friday 10th November 2023
Barn Owl St Michael's Church  (St Michael's Church automated Peregrine camera) 
Wednesday 25th January 2023
1 Lapwing, 1 Reed Bunting  High Clear Down Track (Matthew Best)
Wednesday 26th October 2022
Peregrine on the east face of the church tower this morning/early afternoon Aldbourne (Matt Best)
Tuesday 25th October 2022
Swift species, Common Gull and Firecrest Sugar Hill/Four Barrows track - note this is a very late record for swift and this might well have been a Pallid Swift rather than a Common Swift (Matt Best)
Sunday 23rd October 2022
64 Stock Doves Aldbourne Chase (Matt Best)
Saturday 22nd October 2022
Singing Woodlarks, a confiding Weasel, a siskin and lots of Redwings and Fieldfares around Love's Copse (Matt Best)
Friday 21st October 2022
Peregrine sitting on the South face of the church tower at 5pm - note that the peregrines have been around all summer but have been hard to see as they seem to have been spending most of their time on the tower at night (Emily Best)
Thursday 20th October 2022
Firecrest (2), Redwing (12), Fieldfare (81), Lesser Black-backed Gull (221) and Corn Bunting (3) Four Barrows walk (Matt Best)
Wednesday 19th October 2022
100 Redwing flying South (Matt Best)
Sunday 16th October 2022
Marsh Tit (2) and 81 Herring Gulls Upper Upham (Matt Best)
Stonechat (2)
 High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Saturday 15th October 2022
Barn Owl  on Castle street 1km towards Marlborough (Matt Best)
Wednesday 12th October 2022
Stonechat near New Barns (Matt Best)
8 Reed Buntings 
divided between two separate feedstrips on private farmland (Matt Best)
Tuesday 11th October 2022
Raven (1) and Stonechat (2)  on track near New Barns (Matt and Emily Best)
Stonechat
 2 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Sunday 2nd October 2022
Firecrest  was among 37 birds and 2 mammals on the Four Barrows monthly walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk),
Wednesday 28th September 2022
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Wednesday 21st September 2022
Stonechat 3 on track near New Barns (Matt Best)
Stonechat
 4 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Wednesday 14th September 2022
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Wednesday 7th September 2022
Hobby Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Sunday 28th August 2022
House Martin chicks, The Forge (Jon Beresford),
Sunday 7st August 2022
Redstart, Reed Bunting and Firecrest amoungst 40 species on the bird walk  (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Spotted flycatcher next to the Vicarage (Matthew Best)
Brimstone, Comma, Red Admiral and Small White 
Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Saturday 6th August 2022
Raven  track to High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Redstart High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Monday 1st August 2022
Little Owl Whitley Road area (calling) (Matthew Best),
Sunday 31st July 2022
Hobby Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Sunday 3rd July 2022
40 species of birds including Firecrest Four Barrows Bird Walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Friday 24th June 2022
Juvenile Blue Tits garden on Marlborough Road (Jenny Greaves),