Wildlife Sightings

Please submit your sightings via email (contact@aldbournewildlife.com) or via the contact box. Please do send photos if you are happy for them to be shared.

If a sighting interests you or has given you joy that you could share with others then please do submit - there is no threshold of interest.  We are also very happy to help out with identifying birds and beasts or trying to get your photos in front of someone who can.

If you do not wish to identify where something has been seen it can be shared without a location - please let us know when you send in the information.
green line pic.png
Tuesday 25th October
Swift species, Common Gull, Firecrest and 8 Roe deer Sugar Hill/Four Barrows track - note this is a very late record for swift and this might well have been a Pallid Swift rather than a Common Swift (Matt Best)
Sunday 23rd October
64 Stock Doves and 8 Hares Aldbourne Chase (Matt Best)
Saturday 22nd October
Singing Woodlarks, a confiding Weasel, a siskin and lots of Redwings and Fieldfares around Love's Copse (Matt Best)
Friday 21st October
Peregrine sitting on the South face of the church tower at 5pm - note that the peregrines have been around all summer but have been hard to see as they seem to have been spending most of their time on the tower at night (Emily Best)
Thursday 20th October
Firecrest (2), Redwing (12), Fieldfare (81), Lesser Black-backed Gull (221), Corn Bunting (3) and Roe Deer (3) Four Barrows walk (Matt Best)
Wednesday 19th October
Hummingbird Hawkmoth Hawkins Road (Matt Best)
100 Redwing flying South over Hawkins Road (Matt Best)
Clouded Yellow butterfly 
High Clear Down (Emily Best)
Sunday 16th October
Small White and Red Admiral Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Marsh Tit (2) and 81 Herring Gulls 
Upper Upham (Matt Best)
Stonechat (2) High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Saturday 15th October
Barn Owl  on Castle street 1km towards Marlborough (Matt Best)
Wednesday 12th October
Stonechat near New Barns (Matt Best)
8 Reed Buntings 
divided between two separate feedstrips on private farmland (Matt Best)
Tuesday 11th October
Raven (1) and Stonechat (2)  on track near New Barns (Matt and Emily Best)
Stonechat
 2 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Hare
 1 at High Clear Down (Emily Best)
Clouded Yellow (1), Small White (2) 
at High Clear Down (Emily Best),
Wednesday 2nd October
Firecrest and Roe Deer (5) were among 37 birds and 2 mammals on the Four Barrows monthly walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk),
Sunday 2nd October
Firecrest and Roe Deer (5) were among 37 birds and 2 mammals on the Four Barrows monthly walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk),
Wednesday 28th September
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Thursday 22nd September
Large White, Peacock, Small White, Small Copper, Green-veined White and Clouded Yellow High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Wednesday 21st September
Stonechat 3 on track near New Barns (Matt Best)
Stonechat
 4 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Hare
 1 at High Clear Down (Matt Best)
Clouded Yellow (3), Brimstone (1), Small White (2), Green-veined White (2), Small Copper (3), Adonis Blue (5), Peacock (1), Comma (1), Speckled Wood (1), Meadow Brown (1), Small Heath (2) 
at High Clear Down (Matt Best),
Friday 16th September
Muntjac mother and fawn, Garden on Kandahar (Nick Whelan),
Thursday 15th September
Clouded Yellow High Clear Down (Sean Pyman)
Wednesday 14th September
Raven Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Tuesday 13th September
Hummingbird Hawkmoth Hawkins Road (Matt Best)
Fox 
Four Barrows track (Matt Best)
Monday 12th September
Adonis Blue, Brown Argus, Chalk Hill Blue, Small Heath and Common Blue High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Wednesday 7th September
Hobby Hawkins Road (Matt Best),
Monday 29th August
Small White, Meadow Brown, Chalkhill Blue, Small Heath, Adonis Blue, Common Blue, Speckled Wood High Clear Down (Jon Beresford),
Hummingbird Hawk
moth the Old Malt House, South Street (Matt Best)
Sunday 28th August
House Martin chicks, The Forge (Jon Beresford)
Hummingbird Hawkmoth 
Hawkins Road (Matt Best)
Friday 26th August
Brimstone, Large White and Small White Aldbourne (Jo Day)
Saturday 20th August
Meadow Brown, Common Blue, Adonis Blue, Small Heath, Chalk Hill Blue,  High Clear Down (Jon Beresford),
Thursday 18th August
Hummingbird Hawk-moth , garden on  Whitley road (Alan Phizacklea),
Elephant Hawk-moth caterpillar, garden on The Butts (Sandy Martin)
Small Heath, Common Blue, Meadow Brown, Speckled Wood, Chalk Hill Blue, Brown Argus and Clouded Yellow  
High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Saturday 13th August
Peacock Butterfly Aldbourne Village (Nick Josephy)
Wednesday 10th August
Clouded Yellow, Meadow Brown, Gatekeeper,  Chalk Hill Blue and Small White High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Monday 8th August
Southern Hawker , garden on  Back Lane (Nigel Payne)
Brimstone, Large White, Small White, Common Blue, Gatekeeper and Tortoiseshell
 Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Sunday 7st August
Redstart, Reed Bunting and Firecrest amoungst 40 species on the bird walk  (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Hummingbird Hawk Moth beside St Michael's Church (Matthew Best)
Spotted flycatcher next to the Vicarage (Matthew Best)
Brimstone, Comma, Red Admiral and Small White
 Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Saturday 6th August
Raven and Marbled White butterfly track to High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Redstart, Common Blue and Chalkhill Blue  High Clear Down (Matthew Best)
Monday 1st August
Dark Green Fritillary Whitley Road playng field (Matthew Best)
Little Owl 
Whitley Road area (calling) (Matthew Best),
Meadow Brown, Common Blue, Gatekeeper, Chalk Hill Blue, Dark Green Fritillary, Marbled White, Large White, Clouded Yellow, Small Copper
 High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Sunday 31st July
Hobby Lottage Road (Matthew Best)
Thursday 28th July
Meadow Brown, Large White, Dark Green Fritillary, Gatekeeper, Tortoiseshell, Ringlet, Common Blue and Marbled White butterflies and 6-spot Burnet moth  High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Thursday 21th July
Meadow Brown, Marbled White, Gatekeeper, Ringlet, Small Skipper butterflies and 6-spot Burnet moth  High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Saturday 16th July
Comma, Large White, Small White, Meadow Brown Aldbourne Village (Nick Josephy)
Gatekeeper, Small Skipper, Large White
 Aldbourne Village (Jo Day),
Monday 11th July
Comma The Square (Nick Josephy),
Sunday 10th July
Tortoiseshell, Large White, Small White, Marbled White Aldbourne (Jo Day),
Saturday 9th July
Glow Worm Ewins Hill  (Alan Heasman),
Friday 8th July
Green-veined White, Meadow Brown Aldbourne (Jo Day),
Large White, Meadow Brown, Small Tortoiseshell, Ringlet, Marbled White, Small Skipper, Large Skipper, Small Heath, Gatekeeper, Dark Green Fritillary and Red Admiral 
 High Clear Down (Jon Beresford),
Monday 4th July
Marbled White, Tortoiseshell, Ringlet, Meadow Brown, Small Heath, Small Skipper butterflies High Clear Down (Jon Beresford),
Sunday 3rd July
40 species of birds including Firecrest Four Barrows Bird Walk (Four Barrows Bird Walk)
Wednesday 29th June
Ringlet and Marbled White track opposite Ford Farm (Jo Day),
Tuesday 28th June
Violet ground beetle, Four Barrows track (Emily Best),
Monday 27th June
Ringlet, Meadow Brown, Small Heath, Marbled White and Small Skipper  High Clear Down (Jon Beresford),
Sunday 26th June
8 Buff Ermine, Brimstone, Pale Mottled Willow, 4 Rustics, Small Magpie, Celypha lacunana, 3 common harvestmen, garden moth trap on Hawkins Road Road (Emily Best),
4 frogs and a slowworm, garden on Kandahar (Ros Oswold)
Roe Deer and a Brown Hare
, Poors Gorse (Matt Best)
Friday 24th June
3 Scarlet Tigers, garden on Marlborough Road (Alison Edmonds),
Common Emerald, juvenile Blue Tits 
garden on Marlborough Road (Jenny Greaves),
Tortoiseshell
 Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Thursday 23rd June
Marbled Whites, Comma, Red Admiral, Tortoiseshells, Painted Lady, Meadow Brown, Speckled Wood, Six-spotted Burnets   Upper Upham to High Clear Down (Nick Whelan)
Scarlet Tiger, garden on Kandahar (Nick Whelan) ,
Vapourer moth caterpillar Castle Street (Emily Best)
Wednesday 22nd June
Azure Damselflies The Pond (Emily Best)
Speckled Bush Cricket, Eupeodes luniger hoverfly St Michaels Close (Emily Best)
Tortoiseshell Aldbourne Village (Jo Day)
Tuesday 21st June
Woodlark two at Poors Gorse (Matthew Best)
Green Oak Tortrix moth at Poors Gorse (Matthew Best)
Friday 17th June
Meadow Brown, Small Heath, Tortoiseshell, Marbled White, Ringlet, Common Blue and Small Skipper butterlies and Forester, Cinnabar, Yellow Shell and Mother Shipton moths High Clear Down (Jon Beresford)
Thursday 16th June
Hedgehogs  garden on Kandahar (Sophie Fynn)
Mallard with 8 new ducklings, the pond (Alice and Ben Best)

Tortoishell Aldbourne village (Jo Day)
Wednesday 15th June
White Plume moth, Silver Y, Brimstone butterfly, Speckled Wood track to High Clear Down  (Emily Best)
Large Skipper, Marbled White, Green Hairstreak, Tortoiseshell, Red Admiral, Small Heath, Dark Green Fritillary, Painted Lady, Common Blue, butterflies on High Clear Down (Matt and Emily Best)
Pyramidal Orchid and Common Spotted Orchid, High Clear Down (Matt and Emily Best)